Wine & Dine Training Recap: Week 16

Great! Fantastic! Hooray!!

Monday: Well, after losing the tip of my toe on Saturday, I was extremely worried about running. I also hit it hard, so concerns about my old injury were pretty real. We decided that I could probably hop on the elliptical, since I can keep my foot mostly still in my shoe. It worked out well. It was actually my hip that started aching about 20 minutes in. So, we kept it short and easy and I was glad to have gotten a workout in. This was also our first time back to the gym in quite a while. It reminded me that we really need to get back in there! Erik got me some personal training sessions for my birthday back in July, but injury has kept me away. I’m definitely going to use those soon. Besides, we booked a cruise for March, so I want to spend some extra time toning up.

Tuesday: Rest Day.

Wednesday: I decided to try for our scheduled 30 minute run. I took it easy and managed 2.55 miles with a 12:01/mi pace. Erik did 3.09 miles at 9:51/mi. The weather was nice and cool. We then cleaned up and went out to dinner at The Melting Pot. We ate way too much, but it was nice to get out to a nice restaurant and celebrate. . . nothing! Just go and have a good time!

Thursday:  Rest Day!

Friday: Plans with friends meant another rest day!

Saturday: We probably should have made it to the gym, but I was wary about wearing our legs out before a long run. Speaking of that. . .we found out that 1st Place Sports had cancelled their long run for Sunday morning! What would we do?! Well, I guess we’d do the same thing they were doing. . . the 15th Annual Evergreen Pumpkin Run!

Sunday: Evergreen Pumpkin Run! This was my very first 10 miler! I did it! I’ll give a recap soon, but I’m happy to say that my official time was 1:54:20 for an average pace of 11:32/mile! MUCH better than I was anticipating!

So, things are going well. This week calls for maintenance runs and a 4 miler. The following week we do a couple more short maintenance runs and then. . . WINE & DINE HALF MARATHON!!!! EXCITED!! Is it time to pack yet? I think I’ll start packing. 😉

About JennErikHams

Just a JennErik couple in Jacksonville, FL, sharing what we love.

Posted on October 29, 2013, in Running of the Hams and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I ran the Pumpkin run, too! Wasn’t the weather beautiful? I was planning on running it as a two-hour training run (around a 12:00 pace), but I ended up with 1:49 (a 10:55 pace)…I think it was just too nice to hold back.

    I’ll be at Wine & Dine next week, too! Waiting for the rain to pass so I can get out there for my long run today!

Leave a comment